Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Library Catalog MGHS Answers MGHS Library

Examining Viewpoints: WW II Research: Tertiary Sources

About...

Authored or curated by experts in the field, tertiary sources represent at as a guide to information is broadly recognized among scholars. Researchers rely on these sources for:

1.  Background knowledge 
2.  Facts and data to support analysis/theory

Getting started...

Begin with a pre-search using general overview resources such as your textbook or a general reference work. The pre-search will help you to gather keywords (names of people, places, and related concepts) that will be useful to you when you begin to research your topic. This general information source should NOT be included in your bibliography!  You an use the list on the right side of this page to get started!

Using directories...

Directories and indexes are lists of resources related to a field of study.  They are often presented alphabetically or topically. While not always authored by experts, reliable directories are generally curated or edited by experts.  These experts lend their own credibility to the sources selected for inclusion in the directories.

Be sure to use indexes compiled by reputable organizations and institutions as your guides to information and other resources.

Digital History
A comprehensive directory of online history articles, essays and documents, published through the partnership of a number of prestiges organizations focused on the study of history.

History Reference Center (Badgerlink)
This subscription database is provided to Wisconsin residents through Badgerlink.  It features the full text of approximately 2000 reference and non-fiction books.  

Open Directory Project: World War II
This comprehensive directory contains roughly 900 websites on the Second World War in the following categories: Air Forces, Arts and Literature, Atomic, Directories, Documents, Manuscripts and other Primary Sources, Education and Academic, Land Forces, Naval Forces, People, Regional, Theaters of Operations, War Crimes and Weapons and Equipment.

World War II (Gilder-Lehrman Institute of American History)
This source features thousands of unique historical documents from the institute's collections, along with background information, timelines, essays, and many interactive features.  

World War II (Fordham University)
This collection of links includesaccess to both background information and primary source documents compiled by students and professors at Fordham University.  

U.S. Army in World War II 
A comprehensive set of resources examining the organization, plans and operations of the War Department and the Army in all five theaters of operations from 1939-1945. A seventy-eight volume print reference set, it has been made available in PDF format for free online use. You can use Control+F to search or refer to the index.  

World War II (Fordham University)
This collection of links includesaccess to both background information and primary source documents compiled by students and professors at Fordham University.  

U.S. Army in World War II 
A comprehensive set of resources examining the organization, plans and operations of the War Department and the Army in all five theaters of operations from 1939-1945. A seventy-eight volume print reference set, it has been made available in PDF format for free online use. You can use Control+F to search or refer to the index.  

Considering specialized resources...

Reference works that are specific to a topic, and compiled/authored by recognized experts in that field of study provide more in depth information. Look for evidence of expert authorship in the form of:

  • Affiliations with recognized organizations or institutions
  • Citations referencing in academic sources

These works are great sources for gathering detailed, factual information and should be included in your annotated bibliography.  

Combat Chronicles of U.S. Military Divitions - WWII (U.S. Government)

Medal of Honor Recipients: World War II 

World War II Military Situations Maps (Library of Congress)

World War II Registry at the National WWII Memorial

General Reference Works

General Reference

General reference works (print or online) allow you to develop an overview of your topic and check basic facts.  Consider...

Encyclopedias

Britannica Encyclopedia (Badgerlink)

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia  (EBSCOhost/Badgerlink)

Wikipedia (Learn more...)

Dictionaries

MilitaryWords.com | Acryonym Finder
Help with deciphering primary source documents produced during U.S. military campaigns.

Atlas of World War II (Wikimedia Commons)

Atlases & Gazateers

Britannica World Atlas(Badgerlink)

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers