Skip to main content View all resources View all subjects Back to MGHS Library Home Page

Social Studies Feature

Social Studies Resources

Go to Resources in Context   OR search from here  

50states.com
Organizes links to information on each state, including useful geographic, demographic, political, historical, economic and tourist information.

Global Health and Human Rights Database
A free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights

United Nations iLibrary
UN iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations

American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

American Memory
Produced by the Library of Congress, American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Archive of Early American Images
A database from Brown University of pictures of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra Del Fuego based entirely on primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.

The Avalon Project
Full-text of primary documents in law, history and diplomacy. Contains special collections such at 9/11, Cold War, and Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents. Also includes international documents.

History Matters
Designed for high school and college history teachers, this site contains a wealth of information about primary sources and historical methodologies. In addition to syllabi, suggested readings, quizzes, lesson plans, and historical analysis, the History Matters site contains several useful reference sources and "secrets of great history teachers."

Internet Library of Early Journals
Provides full text access to at least 20 consecutive years of: Gentleman's Magazine, Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine from the 1700s and 1800s.

Making of America (Cornell University)
Provides digitized access to 22 full text journals published from 1815-1910. Contains different journals than the Michigan site.

Making of America (University of Michigan)
Provides digitized access to 12 full text journals from the 1831-1900. Useful for finding original articles published in the 19th century. Contains a different list of journals than those included in the Cornell site.

Picture History
This library of thousands of high-quality digital images and video clips documents over 200 years of American cultural, political, military, and social history. Offers a variety of search functions as well as the ability to save or e-mail images for free.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Provides access to more than one million historically significant digital images, some of which can be freely downloaded.

Vincent Voice Library
Vincent Voice Library collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life.

Magazines

 

Educator SSO URL

Student Google SSO URL

 

Learning Express Career Library (available to all Wisconsin citizens through Badgerlink) includes information, exam prep, practice tests for many occupational field exams, and more.

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers