Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Library Catalog MGHS Answers MGHS Library

MGHS Resources: Index

                                     

Password Portal

Destiny is a great place to to search all materials in our physical and virtual collections.  
  Get the Destiny Discover Chrome extension and our library collections will be
              displayed along with web results every time you search using Google.

 
Get 24/7/365 access to ebooks for reading and learning.

 Overdrive  Mackin

 Gale 

 

   Looking for a book recommendation? Try NoveList


 

 

Want facts? Use Tertiary Sources (General Reference)
        Want analysis?  Identify Secondary Sources

                Want insight?  Examine on Primary Sources


Google Books helps you find information located in printed books.  Some of the books are free, while others are available for purchase.

Google Finance is dedicated to stock quotes and financial news.

Google News allows you to customize layout and content to fit your own news needs.

Google Patent Search allows you to search by name, topic, and other identifiers for patents around the world.

Google Scholar searches information related to academic research.

"20 Things You Didn't Know You Could Do With Search." Google. N. p., 2018. Web. 31 Oct. 2018.

The web is a vast and growing repository of resources, both good and bad.  Researchers may search the web using any number of search engines, and sometimes the search engine you choose matters.  HORIZONTAL Search Engines are designed to seek information across the surface of the web using algorithms known as "crawlers."  Besides Google, you can try:

 Bing   Dogpile   DuckDuckGo   Yahoo!

Internet Archives (including the Wayback Machine)

Specialized search engines search VERTICALLY, diving deep into the web.

BlogSearchEngine 
Search just blog content.

Boardreader
Look for a forum or message board about a specific subject or topic.

CC Search
Find copyright-free content licensed through the Creative Commons.

Internet Archive 
Search through millions of free books, movies, music and more.  Use the Wayback Machine to pull from historical versions of web sites.

Metacrawler
Search the search engines, compiling results from Google, Yahoo! and Bing.

PicSearch
Try this as an alternative to Google Images.  It features unique filters (by color, by orientation, etc.) but does NOT display specific usage rights.

RefSeek  
Find academic information more easily. It includes both search and directory browsing.

Scirus 
Look for scientific information including journal content, courseware, patents, educational websites, and more.

TinEye
Use this reverse image search engine find all instances and original locations for images your using.

Wiki.com
Pull i
nformation from the thousands of Wikis collaboratively maintained on the web.

Wolfram Alpha |
Create a free basic accound and use this "unique engine for computing answers" and seeking statistical data.   

WorldWideScience 
Search for science topics across languages.

zbMATH
Search millions of articles related to mathematics, from serials and journals dating as far back as 1826. 

 

A directory is a human-curated collection of sites related to a particular subject or topic.  The GUIDES on our library page are small directories, though many directories are quite large.  

 


Visit our Global Cafe
Check out or Graphic Novels
What in our Maker Lab?
See our movie collection.
Broadcast your idas in our StudioMEdia
Find your place in our Wisconsin Collection
Express yourself in the Poetry Corner

Monona Grove School District

Monona Grove High School

Resources useful to parents are scattered throughout our site.  If you are having trouble accessing any of our subscriptions, you can use your child's login information, or contact us for access information.  

Common Sense Media
This collection of resources help parents navigate and determine the media best suited to their teen's needs. Check out their Family Media Agreement and Device Contract.

A Digital Diet: Managing Technology in Tweens and Teens
Technology is a part of our world.  This online article outlines a number of ways in which we can free our teens (and ourselves) from technology obsessions.

HelpGuide.org
This site provides information and next steps for dealing with the mental & emotional health needs of both parents and teens.  Available in Español

P&G Everyday
This corporate sponsored site offers useful and fun articles for parents of teens.  

U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services Office of Adolescent Health
This site features tools that will help you start talking with your teens.


This app (available on iTunes or Google Play) is designed to "empower parents to begin a dialogue with their teen on important helath topics and help manage their own health.)

Young Women's Health

"This selection of English and Spanish health guides is specifically targeted towards parents of young women ages 13-22.  Developed in collaboration with the Boston Children's Hospital.

Young Men's Health

This selection of health guides is specifically targeted towards parents of young men ages 13-22. Developed in collaboration with the Boston Children's Hospital.

Miss the old MGHS Resources page?  You can still access it here.

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers