Skip to main content Read our blog! Follow MGHS Library on Instagram Follow MGHS Library on Pinterest Follow MGHS Library on Facebook Follow MGHS Library on Twitter MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Online Library Catalog MGHS Answers

Great Migration Forum: Finding Solutions

Think about...

Lenard, Patti T. "Who should Pay for the Refugees? here are Five Possible Answers." Washington Post - Blogs, 08 Feb. 2016. SIRS Issues Researcher

"Where Refugees Are Welcome." R&E Newsweekly, 9 Sept. 2016. Global Issues in Context.

Our Databases

Use our Gale Powersearch to search

 Student Resources in Context and 
 Global Issues in Context at the same time. 

Together, these databases offer you ll types of information, including reference, news, magazines, journals, and multi-media resources.  Designed specifically for high school students, this is a "curated" collection from a respected reference publisher.   

  Check out these databases, too!     

 

Websites

The United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR)
An agency of the United Nations, this organization is an important source of information on current situations being addressed by the UN.  

Refugees International
This independent organization "focuses on the important refugee, displacement, humanitarian, and human rights issues that need urgent attention and action by government officials, policymakers, and other international organizations."  

Amnesty International
This organization of activists has been respected for more than 50 years for the work it does, worldwide, on behalf of people suffering from human rights abuses.

UNICEF
This well known organization works in countries and territories around the world in an effect to "save children's lives, to defend their rights, and to help them fulfill their potential." Drill down through topics to access current statistics and information regarding ongoing situations. 

Refugees Deeply
Refugees Deeply is an independent digital media project dedicated to covering refugee and migration issues around the globe.

Displacement Tracking Matrix
This website and tool are published by the International  Organization for Migration.  Since 1951, IOM has been working with governmental, intergovernmental, and non-governmental organization to promote human cooperation regarding migration issues.  

ecoi.net 
The European County of Origin Information Network provides government and relief workers with current information on the situations that face refugees and other asylum seekers.

Human Rights Watch
Explore countries, topics, video, published reports, photos and more provided by this respected international nonprofit, non-governmental organization. 

Operation Portal: Refugee Situations
Rich with data, this resource provides information on the most current and urgent refugee situations, worldwide. It is sponsored by the United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR).

The Refugee Project
This interactive map allows you to visualize, across time, both where refugees have fled from and where they seek asylum.  Click on any region (circle) and articles will appear that provide important information related to the refugee crisis in that area.

ReliefWeb
ReliefWeb was first developed in collaboration with the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs.  Their collection of resource includes updated information on worldwide situations, hot topics and articles from a variety of reputable sources that del with the problems of refugees.

The Women's Refugee Commission
Fpimded om 1989, this interantional organization is based in the United States.  They work in partnership with a number of other organizations, worldwide, to work on behalf of womens and childrens rights.

Books

News

 
Newspapers Source Plus (Badgerlink)

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers