Skip to main content

Finding Primary Sources

Featured

Primary Sources by Type

Art Institute of Chicago

ARTSTOR Public Collections
"Approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art."

The Met Collection Open Access Artworks Collection

MoMA Collection

National Gallery of Art Collection

National Portrait Gallery|
Contains information on 60,574 works from the National (UK) Portrait Gallery's collection of over 320,000 paintings, sculptures, drawings, engravings, and photographs

Open Culture Meta List of Art Museums Online

Smithsonian American Art Museum 

Movie Scripts

Stage Scripts

Collections at the Academy of Motion Picture Science 

The Margaret Herrick Library is one of the world’s preeminent research facilities dedicated to the art form and industry of motion pictures.  Its holdings amassed since 1928 include books, photographs,scripts, production records, and much more.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Collection curated by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Newspapers.com World Collection (via Badgerlink)
Historical newspapers archives from the 1700s-2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and worldwide.  

List of music CDs in your MGHS Library Coming Soon!
Sheet Music on Overdrive Coming Soon!

National Jukebox  (Library of Congress)
Features historical sound recordings from various collections, free to the public. The recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.

Ad Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.  

The American Archive of Public Broadcasting

The AP Archive

The C-SPAN Archives

Classic TV Commercials (Internet Archives)

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2016

Newseum

Old Time Radio Drama (WPR Archives)

Political Ads, 2016 (Internet Archives)

Universal Newsreels (Internet Archives)

Vanderbilt University Television News Archive

In the First Person

Sports Byline (Library of Congress)
Features interviews with over 6,000 athletes, coaches, and other sports industry notables.

Voices of the Dust Bowl (Library of Congress)

Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories (Library of Congress)

Britannica School Images & Video (via Badgerlink)

FLICKR: The Commons

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

LIFE Magazine Photo Archive (hosted by Google)

Morguefile

NASA Images

New York Public Library Digital Collection
Contains 30,000 high-resolution digital images taken from the New York Public Library's extensive collection. Most images are pre-1923, and the collection is especially strong in the areas of fashion and natural history.

Photogrammar (Yale University)
This web-based platform organizes, searches, and displays the 170,000 photos created from 1935-1945 by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information.  An interactive map plots geographical information.  

Picture History
This library of thousands of high-quality digital images and video clips documents over 200 years of American cultural, political, military, and social history. Offers a variety of search functions as well as the ability to save or e-mail images for free.