Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Library Catalog MGHS Answers MGHS Library

Find News: Overview

 

Newspapers Online

Availability of content is limited by individual newspaper policies. You can gain access to the most recent edition of the Wisconsin State Journal via the newspapers-in-education program.  Ask your teacher or librarian for an access password.

Chicago Tribune (online edition)

Houston Chronicle (online edition)

Los Angeles Times (online edition)

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (online edition)

The New York Times (online edition)

USA Today (online edition)

Washington Post (online edition)

Wisconsin State Journal (NIE full edition)

Independent Voices: An open access of Alternative Press
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

News Magazines

NewsWeek  | Newsweek en Español
Archives available through GALE Student Resources in Context

Time Magazine 
Archives available through EBSCOhost via Badgerlink

U.S. News and World Report

Broadcast News (affiliated websites)

ABC | BBC | CBS CNN |  C-SPAN | FOX NBC

News via Badgerlink
Newspapers Source Plus (Badgerlink)

Newspaper Source Plus (via Badgerlink)
Provides FULL coverage of today's major newspapers for students and researchers.  

Newspapers.com World Collection (via Badgerlink)
Historical newspapers archives from the 1700s-2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and worldwide.  

Newswires (via Badgerlink)
Real-time access to top world news. Newswires are used by journalists to gather information for their own writing.

U.S. Newsstream (via Badgerlink)
Current and archival (to the 1980s), this news collection features well known news sources including The New York TimesWall Street JournalWashington PostLos Angeles TimesBoston GlobeNewsdayChicago Tribune and more.

Wisconsin Newspaper Association (via Badgerlink)
Provides full-text daily and weekly Wisconsin Newspapers from 2005 through 90 days ago.  You'll also find archival newspaper articles dating from the late 1800s through the 20th century. 

Student Resources in Context  provides access to current newspaper articles, drawn from publications around the world.  The following newspapers are included in full-text as part of this database subscription.

Christian Science Monitor (1996 - Current)
Provides international news and commentary on peoples and cultures.

MacClean's (1989 - Current)
Weekly news magazine of general interest featuring Canadian, business, and world news and features on sports, culture, the arts and entertainment.

The New York Times (1985 - Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news.

New York Times Upfront (1999-present)
A news magazine for teens. Features coverage of current events, entertainment and trends on national and international events. Encourages high school students to consider different points of view.

Newsweek (1994 - Current)  
A news weekly that reports on current political, national and international business and economic, and cultural events. Analyzes trends in society, the arts, lifestyles, celebrities, technology, and health through articles and commentary.

USA Today (1993 - Current)
An illustrated monthly newsmagazine published by the Society for Advancement of Education, providing commentary and debate on a wide variety of topics relating to US national issues and events, including politics, ecology, education, business, the media, literature, science, and religion.

UN Chronicle (1984 - Current)
A news reference publication published by the United Nations. Reports on UN actions and events as it addresses world issues.

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers