Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Unsung Heroes: Biographical Resources
s9.com is an online biographical dictionary and search engine. The source is open-edited and information should be evaluated as such.
- Achiever Gallery
Biographies of "extraordinary individuals who have shaped the twentieth century".
Offers 25,000+ brief biographical entries.
- Conversations with History
Interviews with contemporary people making history. View Interviews by Guest Name.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Includes very brief interlinked notations on large number of scientists.
Free online database of notable women in history.
- First Ladies of the United States
Information from the White House on all the Presidents' wives.
- The GLBTQ Archives
Search within categories for biographies for GLBTQ individuals involved in the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences and History.
- Internet Movie Database Advanced Name Search
Search the Internet Movie Database for information on anyone who works in the movies.
- Inventors Hall of Fame
Online biographies of many famous inventors in America from the Hall of Fame. You can browse an alphabetical list.
- National Women's Hall of Fame
Provides an extensive online collection of biographies of notable women.
- The Nobel Prize
Information on the Nobel Prize winners in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, peace and economics.
- Political Graveyard: A Database of Historic Cemeteries
Includes biographical info on political figures. Search alphabetically, by dates, awards, etc.
- POTUS (Presidents of the United States)
- Time Magazine: Time 100
2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015
Each year, Time profiles 100 remarkable people. Try searching for" Time 100" and a specific year. Also see Time's Person of the Year, 1927-2011.
for choosing a search engine
Search GOOGLE or another standard (surface) search tool to locate about 25% of what's available on the web. Search GOOGLE SCHOLAR to mine for more indepth information on obscure or hard to find topics!
Access Newspaper Archives
Provided by Badgerlink, this resource gives you access to newspapers from across the county dating back as fare as 1790. Search for obituaries and local news stories related to your subject.
American Memory Project
This extensive set of collections from the Library of Congress provides access to lots of primary source information.
The Internet Archives
Search for copyright free materials uploaded to the web for archival purposes. Use the search box on the rightside, NOT the WayBackMachine.
for searching the open web
Enclose your subjects name in quotes like this: "Adele Astaire." This is called relative searching and forces the search engine to see the name as a single search term.
Add search terms to narrow or direct your results.
- add terms to search for personal documents such as letters or correspondence, journals or diaries, etc.
- add terms to identify related people, places, events, or concepts.
Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin
Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers