Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Read our blog! Follow MGHS Library on Instagram Follow MGHS Library on Pinterest Follow MGHS Library on Facebook Follow MGHS Library on Twitter MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Online Library Catalog MGHS Answers

You Be the Expert: Overview

undefined

You, as expert...

How does your role compare to that of an expert?

In completing your school work, you use critical thinking skills to develop an answer.  Experts use a similar process to consider and then respond to real-world problem. 

undefinedIDENTIFY

Experts  track and recognize problems to which they can apply their own professional expertise.  

You will choose a specific threat to global security that you believe is urgent, important and requires attention.  

undefinedSYNTHESIZE

Experts  gather and synthesize pertinent information related to the situation.

You will  synthesize information gathered through research that will guide your response.

undefinedORGANIZE

Experts  develop their response by carefully outlining key points and various contingencies in order to respond effectively.

You will  use an outline your response to verify that you have considered important information prior to developing your response. 

undefinedRESPOND

Experts respond by making recommendations to major policy makers and other government actors.

You will  write a memo addressed to a real world leader that offers your insight and recommendations regarding a global security threat

Glossary of Information Concepts

almanac: a collection of basic facts and statistics related to subtopics within a given topic, such as geography.

analysis: consideration of various information points that aims to provide greater understanding.

bias: the inclination to favor one side or another.

credibility: believability based on expertise and association.

curated: selected and organized to meet a particular need.

...databases

The credibility of an expert's sources reflects their own expertise. MGHS Library databases offer you quick access to a wide array of information, minus the "mud" of personal bias and unreliable sources found through a Google search. Search for a topic and/or place in these databases to unveil:

  • reference works
  • primary sources
  • biographies
  • news
  • magazines
  • videos
  • critical essays
  • and more..
undefined

Gale Resources in Context is a collection of resources created especially for high school scholars. Search using keywords to view results sorted by resource type. For some topics, such as terrorism, you'll find useful background articles. Gale's Global Issues in Context offers an even more expansive collection of articles.

NOTE: After signing into the database using the MG username/passwords provide by your teacher, log in to Google (single-sign on) and you'll be able to save articles and online notes to your Google drive.

SIRS Researcher

Offers resources focused on presenting two or more sides of a controversial issue. Search the topics list to see if there are topics related to your chosen global security issue.

EBSCO Explora

Offers access to the vast and non-curated resources available through EBSCOHost.  You can use the tools on the right of the results page to narrow by date, type, subject and more.

...news sources

Newsela (database)
News curated for use by middle and high school students.  The news is offered to student at a choice of reading levels, ensuring that you can find current information at a level that best suits you, as a learner.

The Associated Press (newswire)
Established in 1846, the associated press is a cooperative of a number of well-known member newspapers and broadcast stations. The news produced here is distributed for publication or rewrite by member publications. Fact checkers consistently place stories found on the AP as reliable.

Reuters (newswire)
Employing over 3,000 journalists in locations worldwide, Reuter's members commit to the maintenance of journalistic integrity and freedom. This has led to a reputation of news aggregated by Reuter's as both reliable and accurate. Check out Reuter's Global Security Threats 2019.

Googling for information?  Watch for these widely trusted, non-partisan news sources:

...almanacs

undefined

The CIA World Factbook 

A respected almanac of state-based information, this source allows you to

  • select a country in this almanac and view country facts, including military and security, terrorism, and transnational issues.
  • print off a copy of one or more "One Page Country Summaries" for quick reference while you consider news stories and analysis.
  • search for official CIA reports and analysis related to your topic.

...analysis

Foreign Policy (magazine)
Foreign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy.

Institute for the Study of War (trade publication)
Find background, maps, and reports, from a military focus, that analyze specific situations, world wide. 

IntellNews ​(trade publication)
Seeks to "highlight and discuss, in a timely, responsible and reflective manner the role of intelligence operations in national and international affairs."

The Interpreter (think tank)
Commentary and analysis of current international events is published here by the Lowy Institute, an independent, nonpartisan think tank.

Rand Corp: Global Security (think tank)
Published by the Rand Corporation, a non-profit think tank dedicated to providing transparent analysis for policy makers, worldwide.  This page will offer highlights, but also allow you to sort articles by type and topic.

Small Wars Journal (blog)
Facilitating "the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders and students," this blog highlights current developments and threats related to small wars in a global setting.

The United States Department of Homeland Security offers a great list of topics that include global threats.  Analysis is from an U.S. security perspective. The Homeland Security Digital Library, is a huge library of published papers and other information by the DHS and related agencies.  Try using the search box on this page to locate factsheets related to your topic. (i.e nuclear weapons factsheets).

mghs / llhc - last updated 04/28/2020

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers