Skip to main content MG21 Virtual Library

Forensic Science: Start Investigating

Quote

"Wherever he steps, whatever he touches, whatever he leaves, even unconsciously, will serve as a silent witness against him. Not only his fingerprints or his footprints, but his hair, the fibers from his clothing, the glass he breaks, the tool mark he leaves, the paint he scratches, the blood or semen he deposits or collects. All of these and more bear mute witness against him. This is evidence that does not forget. It is not confused by the excitement of the moment. It is not absent because human witnesses are. It is factual evidence. Physical evidence cannot be wrong, it cannot perjure itself, and it cannot be wholly absent.  Only its interpretation can err. Only human failure to find it, study and understand it can diminish its value."  

~Paul L. Kirk, Forensic Scientist  (See Kirk's investigation of the Sam Sheppard case, leading to acquittal on appeal)

Forensic Science Simplified

Forensic Science Simplified is an incredible collage of information compiled by the National Forensic Science Technology Center. Learn scientific principles, terminology, and practical applications related to everything from blood stains to trace evidence.

Also check out: Explore Forensics Science for Beginners, a great resource based in the U.K.

In criminal investigation, the more evidence you collect, the tighter your case.  The same is true in research.  Using multiple sources increases accuracy, credibility, and the chances that you'll fully investigate a topic from all angles. Take the time to examine these resources.

More Comprehensive Resources

A Beginner's Primer on the Investigation of Forensic Evidence by Kim Kruglick in Scientific Testimony  (What is Kim Kruglick's area of expertise?  Defense Attorney  Is there bias?
Crime Lab Report (Forensics Foundations Group)
Access recent reports related to issues in the practice of forensic science.

 

 


Crime Scene Investigator Network

Overview of CSI activities and methods, as well as current news and career information.

Explore Forensics Science for Beginners (great resource based in the U.K.)
The Forensics Library
General information site that provides an overview of forensics related fields and technologies.  
Handbook of Forensic Services
This PDF is used by forensic examiners in the FBI Laboratory.  
Illustrated Guide to Home Forensic Science Experiments (PDF)
National Institute of Justice: Forensic Science
Offers a good overview of this field, as well as links to related topics of interest.
PBS LearningMedia Forensics Videos
Smithsonian Channel Videos (search: forensic firsts)
Pulls up 60 shorts and 23 shows featuring forensics videos.

Forensics Magazines

Forensics Magazine News Feed

Loading ...

Other online magazines...

Evidence Technology

The first trade publication in the U.S. focused exclusively on evidence collection, processing and preservation.

Forensic Examiner

Access to preview archives featuring several articles from issues dating back to 2008.

 

Databases

Databases

GreenR (database)
Student Resources in Context (database)
SIRs Pro/Con (database)

EBooks

eBooks

Books always available through the EBSCO eBOOK collection.

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers