Skip to main content View all resources View all subjects Back to MGHS Library Home Page

Introduction

Fine Arts Resources

Go to Resources in Context   OR search from here  

  The Artist's Magazine (2010 - Current) 

  Art & Activities (1990 - Current) 

  Billboard (1994 - Current) 

  Entertainment Weekly (1993 - Current)  

  Music Educators Journal (1990 - Current) 

  Rolling Stone (1990 - Current)   

  Variety (1999 - Current) 

 

ARTSTOR Public Collections
"Approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art."

Art and Architecture Thesaurus Online (Getty Research Institute)

AskART
AskART is an online database containing information on American artists, art styles, research topics as well as auction results and art prices.

National Endowment for the Arts

Artcyclopedia

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (The Metropolitan Museum of Art)

An Introduction to Finding Images on the World Wide Web
A guide to digital image formats, search tools and strategies, legal issues, and related information. Maintained by reference librarian Heidi Abbey of the Pennsylvania State University library system.

Smithsonian Archives of American Art

Union List of Artists Names (The Getty Information Institute)

WorldImages
Created and maintained by California State University. Searchable database contains almost 50,000 art and archaeological images from around the world. Useful for searching by subject matter and theme.

Magazines

 

Film and Television

 

Social Media

 

Apps

 

Educator SSO URL

Student Google SSO URL

 

Learning Express Career Library (available to all Wisconsin citizens through Badgerlink) includes information, exam prep, practice tests for many occupational field exams, and more.

Art Institute of Chicago Digitized Collection
View and download hi-res images from the collection, along with exhibition histories, notes on provenance, and much more.  

ARTSTOR Public Collections
"Approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art."

Cantor Arts Center (Stanford University)
Features nearly 40,000 works of art housed in the center digitized for public viewing.

Freer-Sackler Collection of Asian Art (Smithsonian)
View some of the most important holdings of Asian art in the world.

Google Art Project
250,000+ artworks from 250 museums around the world.

Guggenheim Collection
Features over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists in a searchable databases.  

The Met (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Search this vast collection by object type/material, geographic origin, or era.

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
75,000 works of modern art from among those residing in the New York museum are featured here.

Nasjonalmuseet (National Museum of Art, Norway)
View 40,000 images of art, architecture and other design objects online.

National Gallery of Art
Over 50,000 digital images of collections held by the National Gallery for viewing and download.

Open Culture Meta List of Art Museums Online

Pharos: The International Consortium of Photo Archives
Search more than 60,000 artworks and nearly 100,000 images to find hidden treasures housed in art collections, worldwide.  This collaboration between 14 well known art institutions promises to one day house close to 25 million images for public viewing online.

Rijksmuseum
361,000 works housed in the Dutch museum are free online, including those by the master, Rembrandt.  

SFMOMA's Raushenberg Research Project
Download and study the works of Robert Rauschenberg (1949-1998).  Items include images, essays, footage, artist statements, conservation reports and other archival material.  

Smithsonian American Art Museum 

The Tate
This collectin of 70,000 works of art includes photos, sketchbooks, letters and more.

Whitney Museum of American Art
Online collection includes over 20,000 works of art by some 3,000 American artists.  

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers