Skip to main content View all resources View all subjects Back to MGHS Library Home Page

English Language Arts Resources

Go to Resources in Context   OR search from here  

Research databases

Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
"An online index to over 60,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror."

AF: Acronym Finder (Mountain Data Sistems, LLC)

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
This site will permit you to search the text of the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Criticism & Theory, but to get to the full-text of the entry, you will need to consult the print version in the Library's Reference Center. A resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse.

New York Review of Books
"The premier literary-intellectual magazine in the English language." Every two weeks, the New York Review of Books publishes essays and reviews of books and the arts, including music, theater, dance, and film. A searchable archive is available at New York Review of Books Archive .

 

​ WordSpy: A Word Lover's Guide to New Words

Magazines

 

  American Poetry Review (1994 - Current) 

  Antioch Review (1990 - Current) 

  Harper's Magazine (1993 - Current) 

  The Literary Review (1993 - Current) 

  Mother Jones (1993 - Current) 

  The New Yorker (2003 - Current)

 Ploughshares (1990 - Current)  

  Reason (1989 - Current) 

  Teen Ink (2000 - Current) 

 

Radio, Television and Film

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

Social Media

Paper and Salt (blog)
This is an awesome resource for recipes inspired by literature and authors.  Pages and pages of wonderful old world cooking!

Apps

Graphic Communication

Big Cartoon Database

 

Educator SSO URL

Student Google SSO URL

 

Learning Express Career Library (available to all Wisconsin citizens through Badgerlink) includes information, exam prep, practice tests for many occupational field exams, and more.

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers