Skip to main content Read our blog! Follow MGHS Library on Instagram Follow MGHS Library on Pinterest Follow MGHS Library on Facebook Follow MGHS Library on Twitter MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Online Library Catalog MGHS Answers

Search Databases: Overview

Badgerlink includes resources provided by the state of Wisconsin's Department of Public Instruction. Both specialty and comprehensive databases ensure that the Wisconsin public is made of informed citizens.

You can explore this rich resource by visiting Badgerlink. If you're off campus, or even out-of-state, use any Wisconsin library card (or your school district library number) to log in. First time? Check out our guide: Badgerlink for Beginners. Below you'll find links to the Badgerlink resources you'll find most helpful at MGHS.

AutoMate
Search by car make and model to discover repair info, bulletins, diagrams, specifications, and maintenance information.

Britannica Encyclopedia | Mobile | Español | Atlas
Access this premier online encyclopedia and related publications to learn general information on topics A-Z, and to access a rich collection of multimedia resources.

Career Cruising lets you explore and plan your career path! Learning Express Library is a collection of practice activities and exams designed to prepare you for standardized tests administered by schools, colleges, and career industries.

Consumer Reports Magazine
Find consumer reports on products dating back to the mid-1980s.

 

EBSCO Databases (in Español)
A rich collection of databases designed to meet the needs of all Wisconsin users.
Select the databases appropriate to your own needs and then search them simultaneously. Overwhelmed by the volume of information available via EBSCOHost? Explora for Everyone is EBSCO's student friendly interface, designed for browsing.

 

History Reference Center features EBSCO's collection of resources curated especially for history scholars. Really into history? Take your research further. Use HeritageQuest Online and Wisconsin Historical Society Family History Records to locate family and community records. What a great way to make history personal!

 

Literary Reference Center is an EBSCO collection of resources curated especially for literary scholars. 

 

Merriam-Webster Abridged Dictionary is the largest, most comprehensive American dictionary online.

Novelist is a reader recommendation service that focuses on providing synopsis, read-alikes, discusion guides and more.

Science Reference Center is an EBSCO collection of resources curated especially for science learners.

US Newstream features archival news from major news sources going back in to the 1980s.

Wisconsin Digital Archives includes a growing collection of digitized state documents produced from statehood to the present day.

 

  GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Center)

This portal provides you with access to all of the ebooks we have purchased in addition to those found in our Gale databases.  These ebooks are selected specifically for the projects you do in your classrooms.  Don't forget to check here for information.

 

Search for resources on the move!   Find apps on  iTunes or Google Play for access to our Gale resources on your mobile device.   

 

 SIRS Researcher 
This specialty database focuses on controversial issues, offering students access to guided research on a variety of topics.  This is database is a portal and sources within should be analyzed individually for credibility.


Check out this resource for nonjudgmental, straightforward self-help support.  Topics include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues and much more.

AdAccess
Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in North America between 1911 and 1955.  

Adobe Color CC Color Wheel
An index of RBG and Hex#s.

ARCHIVE GRID
This index will help you narrow in on and access places that have archived primary source material.

ARTSTOR
Close to 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents and audio files from special collections in libraries and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The AVALON PROJECT
An online collection of documents in law, history and diplomacy.

BIOMED CENTRAL
Access to 290 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of biology, clinical medicine, and health.

DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS
Offers researchers access to peer-reviewed journal articles that have been published in with open-access premissions.  Over 2 million academic resources.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
This is an index of educational resources. Provides access to both free and paid journals, grey literature and books.

IMDb (Internet Movie Database)
Catalog offers specific details related to nearly every movie and television show ever produced.

National Portrait Gallery
Information on over 50,000 works from the National Portrait Gallery in Great Britian.

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
High resolution digital copies of images in NYPL's large collection.  The majority of the images available online pre-date 1923

PLOS (Public Library of Science)
Access scientific articles published in 7 open access journals.    

Semantic Scholar
Similar to Google Scholar, this power search tool searches multiple open-access indexes of academic works on the web.

 

 

Create your own database!


This simple online database tool allows you to create your own database in minutes.

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers