Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MG21 Virtual Library

Forensic Science: The Specialists

The Specialists

Organizations

Professional Organizations

Listed below, you'll find professional organizations of professionals active in the field of forensic science.  Each organization offers some resources free to the public.

American Academy of Forensic Sciences offers and online reference library.

American Society of Questioned Document Examiners provides a page of resources (many free).  

The Association for Crime Scene Reconstruction provides a digital archives of their professional journal.

The Association of Firearm and Tool Mark Examiners

Association of Forensic DNA Analysts and Administrators has links to outside news and information in their meeting notes.

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

The Fingerprint Society offers a digital archives of their journal, Fingerprint Whorld, dating back to 1975.

International Association for Identification, along with WVU,offers an awesome collection pf digitized images and historic documents through their Digital Research Library.

International Association of Forensic Mental Health Services offers access to archival issues of their journal.

International Association of Forensic Nurses features a section on forensics related news.

International Associatoin of Forensic Toxicologists has a useful news section.

International Homicide Investigators Association provides articles and other resources. 

National Association of Medical Examiners provides a section of Amicus Briefs related to important criminal cases.

National Clearinghouse for Science, Technology & the Law offers a number of self study courses, including: DNA for the Defense; Law 101 Legal Guide for the Forensic Expert; and, a Cold Case Toolkit.

Ethics

Forensic Science (Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource)

The Specialists

Document Examination

Advances in Document Examination (FBI)

Emily J. Will, Board Certified Forensics Document Examiner
Site includes interesting information on theory, application and technical aspects of handwirting analysis.  Links to famous cases and related articles.

Identifont
Online tool helps users identify fonts used in digitally created documents.

Virtual Typewriter Museum
Collection section helpful in identifying brand/type of typewriter used.  

The Classic Typewriter
Features an examination, Are the Bush Documents Fakes?, which highlights document analysis techniques. For fun (and identification), download classic typewriter fonts!

Omniglot
An online encyclopedia of writing systems and languages. 

The write stuff: how you write can often reveal more than what you write (Smithsonian)  

Criminalistics

Criminalistics vs. Criminology (USLegal.com)

Criminalistics Information (Callifornia Assn of Criminalists)

What It Takes to Become a CSI (Crime Scene Investigator)

Forensic Anthropology

Written in Bone: Forensics Files of 17th Century Chesapeake(National Museum of Natural History)

Forensic Anthropology (Simon Frasier University)

Forensic Archaeology (Simon Frasier University)

ForensicAnthro.com

eSkeletons 
This is an awesome interactive exploration of human and other skeletal structures.

 

Forensic Botany

Forensics (from the American Society of Plant Taxonomists)

Forensic Botany by Jennifer Van Dommelen, Dalhousie University 

Forensic Botany (Investigating Forensics)

Forensic Dentistry/​Odontology

Determining Identity Through Dental Forensics
Interview with Gerald L. Vale, dental forensic scientist.

Forensic Dentistry Online
Great site with both information, images and links news.

Forensic Odontology - Bitemark Evidence
David C. Averill's (DDS) discusses bitemark evidence in the news.

Forensic Engineering
 

Exposives Analysis: How It's Done

Forensic Engineering (Structural Technology Corp.)

Guide for Investigating Bomb and Explosion Scenes (National Institute of Justice)
Information about scene processing.  Make note of the many sub-specialists involved in this type of case. 

National Academy of Forensic Engineers
Site includes current events related to the field.

Explosives (Forensics Library)

Forensic Etomology












Click on image to enlarge

Forensic Entomology (Dr. J.H. Boyd)

Forensic Entomology (Simon Frasier University)

Crime Scene Creatures (PBS)
Video Index | Interactive

Solving Crimes With Pollen, One Grain Of Evidence At A Time NPR: Weekend All Things Considered 

Forensic Imaging Technologies

Digital Forensics: How Experts Uncover Doctored Images

Exploring Forensic Medical Imaging (The Big Picture)

Forensically (in Beta)
Discover is an image has been altered. This interesting online tool allows you to upload a digital image and analyze it using magnification, clone detection, error level analysis, noise analysis and more. A similar tools include FotoForensics and ImageForensics, each using metadata to provide an analysis. Learn more about error level analysis here.

Murder in black and white: Victorian crime scenes and the Ripper photographs (Victorian Studies)

A Picture's Worth: Digital Image Analsis and Forensics

Sorting the Real Sandy Photos from the Fakes (The Atlantic)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Forensic Nurse

Becoming a Forensic Nurse (Nurses Without Borders)

Eight Great Forensic Nurse Specialties (allNursingSchools.com)

International Association of Forensic Nurses features information on the nurse's role in forensics and a section on forensics related news.

Office for Victims of Crime
A useful resource with information related to the key role forensic nurses play in reaching out to the victims and families of the victims of crime.

Forensic Psychiatry

The Forensic Panel:  Forensic Psychiatry Information
This site has a wealth of information that will help you understand the role of the Forensic Psychiatrist/Psychologist.  It includes explanation of all major functions of the specialist, including competency evaluations, mental health treatment of the incarcerated, and much more.

Journal of Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology

What Does a Forensic Psychiatrist Do? (Learn.org)

Forensic Toxicology

 


Click to enlarge

ATSDR (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry)

UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs (GVRL, 2011)
This comprehensive, multi-volume ebook is available to MG students.

Careers at the DEA 

Voice Analysis

 


Click to enlarge

A Simplified Guide to Forensic Audio and Video Analysis (NFSTC and BJA)

Reading Your Voice to Detect Crime (ABC News)

The Truth Meter: Don't Seat It (Make Magazine)
Make your own galvanic skin response meter!

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers