"Wherever he steps, whatever he touches, whatever he leaves, even unconsciously, will serve as a silent witness against him. Not only his fingerprints or his footprints, but his hair, the fibers from his clothing, the glass he breaks, the tool mark he leaves, the paint he scratches, the blood or semen he deposits or collects. All of these and more bear mute witness against him. This is evidence that does not forget. It is not confused by the excitement of the moment. It is not absent because human witnesses are. It is factual evidence. Physical evidence cannot be wrong, it cannot perjure itself, and it cannot be wholly absent. Only its interpretation can err. Only human failure to find it, study and understand it can diminish its value."
~Paul L. Kirk, Forensic Scientist (See Kirk's investigation of the Sam Sheppard case, leading to acquittal on appeal)
Forensic Science Simplified is an incredible collage of information compiled by the National Forensic Science Technology Center. Learn scientific principles, terminology, and practical applications related to everything from blood stains to trace evidence.
Also check out: Explore Forensics Science for Beginners, a great resource based in the U.K.
 |
In criminal investigation, the more evidence you collect, the tighter your case. The same is true in research. Using multiple sources increases accuracy, credibility, and the chances that you'll fully investigate a topic from all angles. Take the time to examine these resources. |
Forensics Outreach
A treasure of forensics related articles! Just a small sample below:
 |
A Beginner's Primer on the Investigation of Forensic Evidence by Kim Kruglick in Scientific Testimony (What is Kim Kruglick's area of expertise? Defense Attorney Is there bias? |
|
Crime Lab Report (Forensics Foundations Group) Access recent reports related to issues in the practice of forensic science. |
Crime Scene Investigator Network
Overview of CSI activities and methods, as well as current news and career information.
|
Explore Forensics Science for Beginners (great resource based in the U.K.) |
|
The Forensics Library General information site that provides an overview of forensics related fields and technologies. |
|
Handbook of Forensic Services This PDF is used by forensic examiners in the FBI Laboratory. |
|
Illustrated Guide to Home Forensic Science Experiments (PDF) |
|
National Institute of Justice: Forensic Science Offers a good overview of this field, as well as links to related topics of interest. |
|
PBS LearningMedia Forensics Videos |
|
Smithsonian Channel Videos (search: forensic firsts) Pulls up 60 shorts and 23 shows featuring forensics videos. |
 |
 |
|
The first trade publication in the U.S. focused exclusively on evidence collection, processing and preservation. |
Access to preview archives featuring several articles from issues dating back to 2008. |
 |
GreenR (database) |
 |
Student Resources in Context (database) |
 |
SIRs Pro/Con (database) |
Books always available through the EBSCO eBOOK collection.
Corpse by When detectives come upon a murder victim, there's one thing they want to know above all else: When did the victim die? The answer can narrow a group of suspects, make or break an alibi, even assign a name to an unidentified body. But outside the fictional world of murder mysteries, time-of-death determinations have remained infamously elusive, bedeviling criminal investigators throughout history. Armed with an array of high-tech devices and tests, the world's best forensic pathologists are doing their best to shift the balance, but as Jessica Snyder Sachs demonstrates so eloquently in Corpse, this is a case in which nature might just trump technology: Plants, chemicals, and insects found near the body are turning out to be the fiercest weapons in our crime-fighting arsenal. In this highly original book, Sachs accompanies an eccentric group of entomologists, anthropologists, biochemists, and botanists--a new kind of biological "Mod Squad"--on some of their grisliest, most intractable cases. She also takes us into the courtroom, where "post-O.J." forensic science as a whole is coming under fire and the new multidisciplinary art of forensic ecology is struggling to establish its credibility. Corpse is the fascinating story of the 2000year search to pinpoint time of death. It is also the terrible and beautiful story of what happens to our bodies when we die.
Death Investigation in America by In this political and cultural history, Jentzen draws on archives, interviews, and his own career as a medical examiner to look at the way that a long-standing professional and political rivalry controls public medical knowledge and public health.
The Death of Meriwether Lewis by Even after more than two centuries, mystery continues to surround Meriwether LewisOCOs deathOCo"did the famous explorer commit suicide or was he murdered?" Recently revealed truths and deconstructed myths are woven together in this fascinating account to form an unforgettable tale of political corruption, assassins, forged documents, and skeletal remains. New research implicating General James WilkinsonOCocommanding general of the U.S. Army and coconspirator of Aaron BurrOCoas the assassin is thoroughly discussed, while riveting testimony froma13 leading experts in wound ballistics, forensic anthropology, suicide psychology, grave-site exhumation, and handwriting analysis offers new insight into what LewisOCOs exhumed remains might reveal. The new evidence not only destroys the foundation of suicide arguments by proving the primary evidence is a forgery, it also proves the Indian Agent escorting Lewis lied about his activities on the day of Lewis's death. The book also contains evidence of a previously unknown plot by Aaron Burr to seize New Orleans and invade Mexico in 1809, a repeat of his 1806 plot. It explains why Lewis suddenly changed his plans to travel to Washington, DC, by boat, and instead chose to go overland on the Natchez Trace, where he met his untimely death on October 11, 1809, at age 35."
Forensic Identification by In this fascinating book, forensic anthropologist Dr. Elizabeth A. Murray takes readers into the forensic labs where experts use advanced technology to determine the identities of bodies whose names are unknown. Through a range of scientific methods, forensic specialists piece together the stories.
Forensic Science by This completely updated, new edition of Forensic Science approaches its subject from multiple directions. One primary approach is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the se
Police Forensics by Police forensics takes you into the thrilling world of crime scene investigation. Make sure it's on your radar!Inside you'll find these features:Great Gear Discover the forensic officer's tools of the trade.Just the Facts Uncover key stats and figures from the world of crime science.Day in the Life Follow a typical day of a DNA forensic officer.
Silent Witnesses: The Often Gruesome but Always Fascinating History of Forensic Science by Crime novelist and former police officer Nigel McCrery provides an account of all the major areas of forensic science from around the world over the past two centuries. The book weaves dramatic narrative and scientific principles together in a way that allows readers to figure out crimes along with the experts. Readers are introduced to such fascinating figures as Dr. Edmond Locard, the “French Sherlock Holmes”; Edward Heinrich, “Wizard of Berkeley,” who is credited with having solved more than 2,000 crimes; and Alphonse Bertillon, the French scientist whose guiding principle, “no two individuals share the same characteristics,” became the core of criminal identification. Landmark crime investigations examined in depth include a notorious murder involving blood evidence and defended by F. Lee Bailey, the seminal 1936 murder that demonstrated the usefulness of the microscope in examining trace evidence, the 1849 murder of a wealthy Boston businessman that demonstrated how difficult it is to successfully dispose of a corpse, and many others.Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin
