Literary Awards

Literary Awards

American Indian Youth Literature Award
Sponsored by the American Indian Library Association, this award honors the best writing and illustrations by and about Native American Indians.

Américas Award
Sponsored by the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs honors both English and Spanish language works that represent Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States.

Coretta Scott King Award
Sponsored by the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the ALA, this award is presented each year to African-American authors of children's and YA literature.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature
This award, a project of the Asian/Pacific America Librarians Assocaition, highlights literature featuring Asian American themes.

Middle Eastern Book Awards

This prize, awarded since 1999, recognizes quality books for children and young adults that contribute to a better understanding of Middle Eastern society and culture.

Virginia Hamilton Literary Award

Given annually by the Virginia Hamilton Conference at Kent State, this award is presented to an author or illustrator who, through artistic excellence, has contributed to the field of multicultural literature for children and adolescents.

Equity...

Resources for Teachers

Resources for Professionals

Alexander, Linda B., and Nahyun Kwon. Multicultural programs for tweens and teens. Chicago: ALA Editions, 2010. PDF.

 The Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC), housed at U.W., is a respected advocate for children's and young adult reading. Their list of multicultural titles and their searchable database serve as resources for educators nationwide.

 Criteria for Evaluating Multicultural Literature  The work of Dr. Denise Agosto, these guidelines offer educators five criteria (via reflective questions) through which to evaluate multicultural literature.

 Defending Religious Diversity in Public Schools: A Practical Guide for Building our Democracy and Deepening our Education (eBook)

Delpit, Lisa D. Other people's children : cultural conflict in the classroom. New York: New Press, 1995. Print.

Gallagher, Eugene, and W M. Ashcraft. Introduction to new and alternative religions in America. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006. PDF.

Gillborn, David, and Gloria Ladson-Billings. The RoutledgeFalmer reader in multicultural education. London: RoutledgeFalmer, 2004. Print.

Green, Lucy. Learning, teaching, and musical identity voices across cultures. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2011. PDF.

Kollar, Nathan R. Defending religious diversity in public schools a practical guide for building our democracy and deepening our education. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Praeger, 2009. PDF.

Meeting the Needs of Students with Diverse Backgrounds  (ebook)

Multicultural Literature and Response: Affirming Diverse Voices (eBook)

 Multicultural Pavilion   The Multicultural Pavilion provides resources for educators, students, and activists to explore and discuss multicultural education.>

Multicultural Programs for Tweens and Teens (eBook)

 National Association for Multicultural Education  An association for educators that helps to promote awareness and respect for culture and diversity.

Purnell, Larry D. Transcultural health care : a culturally competent approach. Philadelphia: F.A. Davis, 2013. Print.

Rothstein-Fisch, Carrie, and Elise Trumbull. Managing diverse classrooms : how to build on students' cultural strengths. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 2008. Print.

 Story Arts Online  Dedicated to incorporating the art of storytelling, so important in many cultures, into the classroom.

Sage, Rosemary. Meeting the needs of students with diverse backgrounds. London: Continuum, 2010. PDF.

Saifer, Steffen. Culturally responsive standards-based teaching : classroom to community and back. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin, 2011. Print.

Smolen, Lynn A., and Ruth A. Oswald. Multicultural literature and response affirming diverse voices. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Libraries Unlimited, 2011. PDF.

Sobo, Elisa J., and Martha O. Loustaunau. The cultural context of health, illness, and medicine. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Praeger, 2010. PDF.

 Voices from the Gap: Women Writers of Color   Provides an extensive list of multicultural female writers and shares ideas about incorporating the study of these writers into the curriculum.

Resources for study...

Resources for Study

Carnes, Jim. Us and them : a history of intolerance in America. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. Print.

Gallagher, Eugene, and W M. Ashcraft. Introduction to new and alternative religions in America. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006. PDF.

Voices  Offers a vast collection of poetry and writings on multicultural topics, as well as providing students and educators opportunities to publish their original work.

 

African-American

African American History (ebook)

African Americans in Science (website)

Black Faces of War: a Legacy of Honor from the American Revoution to Today (ebook)

Encyclopedia of African American Music (ebook)

Icons of African American Comedy (ebook)
Icons of African American Literature (ebook)
Icons of Black America: Breaking barriers and crossing boundries (ebook)

Keep on Pushing: Black Power Music from Blues to Hip-Hop  (ebook)

Asian

Asian-Nation (website)  Currated by C.N. Le, professor at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, this is an authoritative information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political and culture issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community.

Everest, by D.C. Hmong in the Modern World. Weston, WI: D. C. Everest Area Schools, 2005. Print.

Lee, G Y., and Nicholas Tapp. Culture and customs of the Hmong. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, 2010. PDF.

Yoo, G. J., & Chen, E. W. (2010). Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today. Santa Barbara, Calif: Greenwood Press.

Yung, Judy, Gordon H. Chang, and H M. Lai. Chinese American voices from the gold rush to the present. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2006. PDF.

Zia, Helen. Asian American dreams : the emergence of an American people. New York, N.Y.: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2000. Print.

Jewish American

Bauman, Mark K. Jewish American chronology : chronologies of the American mosaic. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, 2011. Print.

Buxbaum, Shelley M., and Sara E. Karesh. Jewish faith in America. New York: Facts On File, 2003. Print.

Falk, Avner. Anti-semitism a history and psychoanalysis of contemporary hatred. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2008. PDF.

Norwood, Stephen H., and Eunice G. Pollack. Encyclopedia of American Jewish history. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2008. Print.

Pohl, Jana. Looking forward, looking back : images of Eastern European Jewish migration to America in contemporary American children's literature. Amsterdam: Rodopi, 2011. Print.

Latino American

Cruz, Bárbara. Triumphs and struggles for Latino civil rights. Berkeley Heights, NJ: Enslow Publishers, 2008. Print.

De La Torre, Miguel A. Hispanic American religious cultures. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2009. PDF.

Icons of Latino America: Latino contributions to American culture

Replenished Ethnicity: Mexican Americans, Immigration, and Identity

Stavans, Ilan. Quinceañera. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, 2010. PDF.

Tenenbaum, Barbara A. Latin America : history and culture : an encyclopedia for students. New York: Scribner, 1999. Print.

Valdés, Guadalupe. Con respeto : bridging the distances between culturally diverse families and schools : an ethnographic portrait. New York: Teachers College Press, 1996. (Print)

Voices of the U.S. Latino Experience

Windows into my World: Latino Youth Write Their Lives 

Muslim American

 

Allen, Christopher. Islamophobia. Farnham, Surrey: Ashgate, 2010. Print.

Beverly, James. Islamic faith in America. New York: Facts On File, 2003. Print.

Cornell, Vincent J. Voices of Islam. Westport, Conn.: Praeger Publishers, 2007. PDF.

Courbage, Youssef, and Emmanuel Todd. A convergence of civilizations : the transformation of Muslim societies around the world. New York: Columbia University Press, 2011. Print.

Curtis, Edward E. Muslims in America : a short history. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. Print.

Dodge, Christine H. The everything understanding Islam book a complete guide to Muslim beliefs, practices, and culture. Avon, MA: Adams Media Corp., 2009. PDF.

Emerick, Yahiya. The complete idiot's guide to Islam. Indianapolis, IN: Alpha, 2011. PDF.

Morgan, Diane. Essential Islam a comprehensive guide to belief and practice. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Praeger/ABC-CLIO, 2010. PDF.

Phillips, Caryl. Color me English migration and belonging before and after 9/11. New York: New Press, 2011. PDF.

Sajoo, Amyn B., and Institute of Ismaili Studies. A companion to the Muslim world. London: I.B. Tauris, 2009. PDF.

Sardar, introduction b.Z. The Encyclopædia Britannica guide to the Islamic world religion, history, and the future. London: Robinson, 2009. PDF.

Native American

American Indian Science and Engineering Society (website)

Robbins, Catherine C. All Indians do not live in teepees (or casinos). Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2011. PDF.

Toughest Indian in the World by SHerman Alexie (print)

YA Titles and Multicultural Reading Lists

Teen Reads

Check out the lists on our teen guide, The Diversity of Us, featuring
 African American characters
 Asian America characters
 Indian America characters
 Latino American characters
 Arab America characters
 Native American characters

Just a few titles to get you started...

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers