MG21 Virtual Library MGHS Library and Information Media Center MGHS Answers MGHS Library Catalog MGHS Library Guides MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library for Teachers

These Hunger Games: The Training Center

Bibliographic Tools

It‘s dangerous to get your thoughts jumbled. - Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games 



Some alternatives:

  • EasyBib
    Want access to more powerful tools on EasyBib EDU? Be sure to ask in the library for the school coupon code. 
  • Cite This for Me
    Download this slick Chrome extension. Careful!  You'll need to take your editing pen to some of these citations.
  • Database tools!
    Most databases provide you with pre-formatted citations, as well as permanent links to the information, for your reader's convenience.

Stack the odds!

 

Create and share your bibliography with your teacher and your librarian by the end of class on the 1st day and earn 1 training point.  You may use the citation generator of your choice, but share your bibliography through Google Classroom (SEE assignment titled: Hunger Games Bibliography). 

Include two citations, complete with annotations, before class on the 2nd day and earn an additional 2 training points.

~Share your thesis statement with President Snow for an additional 1 training point.  Need help with your thesis?  Check out our guide: Developing a Thesis.

Check out this great thesis generator shared by Carter Foust, Class of 2019! President Snow is thankful for his insight into these games.

~You are required to use a MINIMUM of 2 sources, but more resources always increase the odds in your favor. Receive an additional point for each resource beyond the minimum of 2 that you include in your bibliography.

 

Database Resources

In Suzanne Collin's The Hunger Games, tributes discover that the tools they need for success are not always the obvious ones. 

Look for online sources not available through the open web. Try out the MGHS subscription to Gale's Student Resources in Context to access information typically hidden from a Google search.  

Resources in Context 

Want to bank some points?  Search Student Resources in Context using this guided tutorial.

 

What about other database options?

Access Science 
Bloom's Literature
Global Issues-in-Context
Issues & Controversies in American History

Wisconsin Badgerlink   Try...

 

In your bibliography, demonstrate the use of other databases to search for information on the hidden web for 
1 or more training points.

DIgital Notetaking - Camouflage

Taking notes during your research is the best way to ensure that you can translate what you learn into an effective presentation.  Your teachers have provided you with the Enlightened Thinker Worksheet to help organize this information.  

Google Doc | Printable

It's easy to lose track of who said what when we are gathering information from digital sources.  Make note of direct quotes, paraphrases and even your own ideas in your notes.  Mrs. Cowell likes to take notes electronically, coloring her direct quotes (cut and paste) red, her paraphrases blue, and her original ideas green.  in order to avoid "accidental plagiarism."  


Red, blue, green...do you think you have this skill "in cite?" Click here to up your training score by up do 3 points!

Understanding the Enlightenment

Information without understanding is not knowledge.  Understanding requires that we dig deeper to explore the key ideas of the enlightenment and consider how each enlightenment thinker fit into this larger concept.  

The Enlightenment and My Thinker (Analysis Tool)  
Printable PDF  | Google Doc

Resource Selection - The Cornucopia

"Knowledge is of two kinds: We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information about it." ~Samuel Johnson

 

In Suzanne Collin's The Hunger Games, tributes learn to use a variety of tools and weapons. As they learn, they focus in on those tools and weapons that they believe offer them the most promise of winning.  It is these tools that the tribute retrieves from the Cornucopia.

Information is growing in our world at an exponential rate. How large is the digital universe? How fast is it growing? The 2014 EMC Digital Study sought to quantify the answer and their findings are staggering. We may, in fact, find ourselves overwhelmed by the information available. But, as Albert Einstein once noted,

"Information is not knowledge."


Click to enlarge this image.

 

 

 


You will be redirected to another page.

If you'd rather meet this challenge using your smart phone, scan this URL:

Published Works

"The images of men's wits and knowledge remain in books. . . . They generate still, and cast their seeds in the minds of others, provoking and causing infinite actions and opinions in succeeding ages." ~Francis Bacon

Online Catalog Quick Search

Find:
 
Search Keywords Search Subjects Search Titles Search Authors

For more search options go to our

 Destiny Online Catalog
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
This Encyclopedia, housed in our library, focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes brought on by the Enlightenment.
AND we have ebooks!
Follett Shelf
EBSCO Ebooks
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Google Books

 

Do yourself a favor!

Books that have been through the publishing process are more likely to include rigorously researched information. Include at least one book source (print or ebook) in your bibliography and earn 1 training point.  

Resource Evaluation - Real or Not Real?

"A wise man proportions his belief to the evidence." ~David Hume

Real or Not Real?

In Suzanne Collin's The Hunger Games, things are not always what they seem. Several times throughout the story, Katniss and Peeta ask one another, "Real or not real?"  

The same can be said about the resources you'll encounter during research.  The web, the news media, and even more traditional sources such as books, may offer great information, but they can also be a source of bias and misinformation.  Use our guide:

Consider the Source

to learn how you can use credibility, currency, and citation to determine if the information sources you encounter are "real or not real?"

Can you consider the source? Click here to up your training score by 1 to 6 points!

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers