Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MGHS Library for Teachers MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library Guides MGHS Library Catalog MGHS Answers MGHS Library

Examining Viewpoints: WW II Research: Research in Practice

Research in Practice

In practice, professional historians comb physical and virtual archives in search of both tertiary, secondary, and primary sources that will support the thesis of their work.  Sifting through the vast and growing collection of information available, in our library and online can be overwhelming for today's student of history.  As you develop your skills, practice with tools designed to bring the best of resources together for you in one place.  

1.  Set up your annotated bibliography on NoodleTools.  Use the Annotation Template to refresh your skills for writing a good annoatation.  

2.  Pre-search!  Develop background knowledge and questions will begin to emerge.  Use these questions (your curiosity!) to drive your research!

3.  Develop a Thesis based on the line of inquiry you've taken.

 

4.  

Gale's Student Resources in Context is a comprehensive database that can provide you with a variety of source types--tertiary, secondary, and primary.  Get started here!

Results are displayed by resource type.  Three featured hits will be displayed under each type, but you can find more of that type by clicking on the type. Remember, start with tertiary sources and develop a deeper understanding by critically considering secondary sources and primary documents.

Create a personal login.  You'll be able to bookmark and save your sources and (coming soon!) highlight information for review directly on the web.
Keep an eye on the tools box at the right of the screen.  Lots of options here!
More comfortable reading in your native language?  Translate most text based content into 13 different languages, right within the article.
Use advanced search to zero in on your topic.  
 
  1. Limit results with boolean techniques
  2. Always choose full-text articles.
  3. Choose peer reviewed for more authoritative work.  
  4. Select the type of documents you are looking for, as well as the type of content.  
  5. Narrow by difficulty level or your own reading lexile range.  You can also see difficulty level by scanning any search results.  indicates basic level information,  indicates intermediate level material, and  indicates more complex material at written at a high Lexile level.

5.

Access Newspaper Archive provides researchers with historical newspapers published across the country and is provided to Wisconsin residents through Badgerlink

Remember:  Newspapers published contemporary or concurrent to events straddle the line between primary and secondary type information.  While news reporters may not be direct participants in the events, they often gather there information from eye-witnesses.  This method, and their own immersion in the place/time introduce elements of bias that are generally not present when information is produced by researchers long removed (by distance and time).    

 Use the Access Newspaper Archive to locate eye-witness information. You can browse by location or date, or search by keyword.  

eBook Collections

Resources

Review for information literacy...

Click image above to enlarge and review the types of sources you should be locating.  
For teachers: Display graphic only 

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers