Skip to main content MG21 Virtual Library MGHS Library and Information Media Center MGHS Answers MGHS Library Catalog MGHS Library Guides MGHS Library Resources MGHS Library for Teachers

News & Views: New & Views

Journalists are trained to approach news with an unbiased eye, but the of news media outlets may promote "leanings" that appeal to their audience base.  Do you only read news that leans towards your point-of-view?  Do you challenge your thinking by reading parallel coverage that is offered by media outlets that lean away from you? Consider:

How Liberal is Your Media? (from Freakenomics)
Thinking about Personal Bias (a critical research skill)
Uncovering News Bias (a critical research skill)

Below, find newspapers by their editorial leanings.

Newspapers

Mainstream Conservative Liberal

Christian Science Monitor

Chicago Tribune
New York Post
Wall Street Journal
Washington Times

Los Angeles Times
New York Times
Village Voice
Washington Post

Magazines

Mainstream Conservative Liberal
Time Magazine

American Spectator
Commentary
Economist
Forbes
National Review

Atlantic Monthly
New Republic
New Yorker
Utne

     

Broadcast

Mainstream Conservative Liberal

PBS
BBC
CSPAN
NPR

FOX News

MSNBC

Online/Wires

Mainstream Conservative Liberal

Reuters

Drudge Report
Free Republic
Hot Air

 

Are there alternative news sources I can trust?

  • to represent viewpoints they believe are under-represented in mainstream media
  • to provide coverage for topics and events that may be ignored by mainstream media
  • to provide a platform for citizen journalism

  AlterNET  |  Propublica  |  McClure's Magazine  |  Raw Story  |  truthout   | Utne Reader

You can search online for a list of alternative news sources that strive to represent views and issues often ignored by corporate media.  Of course, it's still very important that you evaluate these sources for any biases that may arise.

What if I want to read the news from a local angle?

For local news, check out Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site, courtesy of Badgerlink, or read the Wisconsin State Journal (Newspapers in Education Edition) online.

Want to know public opinion?

Gallup Organization
Up-to-the-minute Poll News Service include summary information on topic related polls.

New York Times Polls
Includes graphical interpretations of polls conducted by The NYT.

PEW Research Center for the Peoples & the Press 
​HIghly respected data analysis group conducting regular surveys of the American people.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - Topics at a Glance
Social data on historical and current topics gathered through surveys of public opinion.  

U.S. News and World Report Polls
Polling results on current issues in the news.

How can I find editorial analysis? 

Editorial analysis is a response to news coverage and current events and it inherently includes bias. Some editorial writers gain readership through a targeted appeal to specific groups, while others are known for a more moderated approach. Most major newspapers have editorial sections.  Check out the New York Times Opinion Pages.

 

 You can also consider the opinions of political pundits.  For example, read/watch:

Glen Beck | Ann Coulter | Maureen Dowd | Sean Hannity | Arianna Huffington |  Thomas Friedman | Rush Limbaugh | Rachel Maddow | Chris Matthews | Lawrence O'Donnell | Bill O'Reilly | David Shipley |  Jon Stewart | Andrew Sullivan | George Will  

 

 Editorial cartoons give you a unique critique of current events. Simply search online using the key words "editorial cartoons + topic."  Want to learn how to read an editorial cartoon effectively?  Check out these online editorial cartoon galleries:

The Week | AAEC | McClatchy | USA Today | The Onion | Miami Herald | US News & World Report | Daryl Cagle

Editorial cartoons make an appeal to our emotions (humor) and this can be very powerful in suggesting we view current events in a particular way.  Learn to draw information about the interpretation, as well as the current events with our guide, below.  

Databases

Databases include both news and scholarly resources.  If you're looking for news, narrow your searches to news articles.

 SIRS Researcher 
This specialty database focuses on controversial issues, offering students access to guided research on a variety of topics while modeling the type of questions that lead to great research.  This is database is a portal and sources within should be analyzed individually for credibility.  

Global Issues in Context 

With focus topics "designed to support global awareness" this database ties together authoritative reference, scholarly research, popular magazine and media features, along with current events from around the world. 

 Access Science 
This expertly vetted database offers reference materials and more, across scientific disciplines.  The Editorial team includes over 9000 respected scientists and engineers, including Noble Prize winners. Learn more...

News (API, UPI etc.)

Newspaper Source Plus

Other Online Resources

Online pro-con sites are useful, but they can include commentary that is presented by a variety of people, expert and non-expert. Be careful to check the credibility of any author whose point you are considering.  Ask yourself: What gives the expertise to say that?

Debate.org
Information covers debates, opinions and polls.  Be sure to check out their BIG ISSUES section.

Ethics Updates(University of San Diego)
Compiles resources on several topics associated with applied ethics.

ProCon.org
Use this site to explore current controverial topics.  Site presents pro-con arguements made by individuals, many with credentials in a related field.

Social Issues Research Center

United Nations Global Issues

Wikipedia
Use the "talk" tab to explore disputed content.  

Fact Check

Popular Fact Checkers

FactCheck.org 

Center for Public Integrity

The Fact Checker   
(Washington Post)

Politifact

Media Reality Check 
(Media Research Center)

Snopes.com

TruthDig

 

It's easy to rely on fact checking sites to check the validity of a news story. Still, these sites are the product of individuals who may have their own biases (or be pressed for time). Consider doing your OWN fact check. Check out our guide: 


Click image to access

Library Information and Media Center - Monona Grove High School - Monona, Wisconsin

Answers| Catalog | Guides | Resources | Teachers